IIT IEEE Exco 2015

The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) is the world’s largest professional organization committed to the advancement of technological innovation and excellence to benefit all of humanity. It was formed in 1963 from the amalgamation of the American Institute of Electrical Engineers and the Institute of Radio Engineers. Today it has more than 400,000 members in chapters around the world. Its objectives are the educational and technical advancement of electrical and electronic engineering, telecommunications, computer engineering and allied disciplines.

The IEEE student chapter at IIT was started in March 2015 and the club as built with support of our lecturers Dr.Thilak Chaminda and Mr. Guhanathan Poravi. The IEEE student branch is actively organizing special events like Hackathons, workshops and guest lecturers for the students. The Inauguration Ceremony was held in May 2015.

Office Bearers – 2015

Chair – Dileesha Rajapakse
Vice Chair – Banuka Athuraliya
Secretary – Ranuk Wijesinghe
Treasurer – Uthpala Samarawickrama
WIE Chair – Rukshala Weerasinghe
Educational Director – Jehan Wijesinghe
Activities and Event Director – Shadir Hisham
Public Relationship Director – Chamath Palihawadana
Finance Director – Jeevinojan Vijayakumaran